Dr. Sarah Liao, GBS, MBE, JP, FHKIE, FRSC

    57 Liao Sarah - Photo - r.png

    Dr Sarah Liao graduated from the University of Hong Kong (HKU )with a Bachelor of Science degree (honours) in Chemistry and Botany in 1973. She obtained a Master of Science degree in Analytical Chemistry from Birmingham University U.K.in 1975. In 1984 she was awarded with a Doctor of Philosophy degree in Community Medicine from HKU.

    Dr. Liao served as Secretary for the Environment, Transport and Works of the Hong Kong SAR Government from 2002 to 2007, during which she successfully set up official Cross boundary collaboration with Guangdong in combatting pollution, enacted legislation on waste charging (construction waste and sewage), merged the Mass Transit Railway Corp (MTR) and the Kowloon Canton Railway Corp. (KCRC) and delivered according to plan public works programme averaging HK$27b per year.  Since 2008 Dr. Liao has been serving as a member of the Chinese Council of International Cooperation on Environment and Development (CCICED), Senior Advisor to the Vice Chancellor of HKU on Environmental and Sustainability Matters (until 2014); Acting Director of the Kadoorie Institute of HKU (2012-2016), Honorary Professor of the Dept. of Civil Engineering of HKU (up to present), Master of New College of HKU (up to present); non-executive director of Westport Inc. (until 2013), Convenience Retail Asia Ltd (2014 to present); Trustee on the Board of the Environmental Defense Fund (EDF)(2008-present); and a member of the Academic Network of the Our Hong Kong Foundation (2015- present).

    Prior to 2002, Dr Liao was in the consultancy business in HK, the PRC and Taiwan. She was employed as the senior environmental advisor to Beijing's Olympic Bidding and Organizing Committees from 1999- 2002, and 2007-2008.

    Dr. Liao is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry, Hong Kong Institute of Engineers and HKU. She was awarded the Justice of the Peace in 1994, Member of the Order of the British Empire (MBE) in 1997 and the Gold Bauhinia Star (GBS) in 2007.

移至主內容

廖秀冬博士 金紫荊星章, 英帝國員佐勳章, 太平紳士, 香港工程師學會院士, 英國皇家化學學院

57 Liao Sarah - Photo - r.png

廖秀冬博士1973年畢業於香港大學,獲得化學和植物學科學(榮譽)學士學位。她1975年畢業於英國伯明翰大學,獲得分析化學科學碩士學位。1984年,她獲香港大學授予社會醫學哲學博士學位。

2002年至2007年,廖博士擔任香港特區政府環境運輸及工務局局長,期間成功與廣東省建立了正式跨境合作以對抗污染,又立法推行廢物收費(建築廢物和污水),合併地下鐵路公司(地鐵)和九廣鐵路公司(九鐵),並按計劃實踐平均每年27億港元的公共工程計劃。自2008年,廖博士一直擔任中國環境與發展國際合作委員會(國合會)的委員、香港大學校長的環境及可持續發展事務高級顧問(至2014年)、香港大學嘉道理研究所代理總監(2012年至2016年)、香港大學土木工程系榮譽教授(截至目前)、香港大學日新學院院長(截至目前)、西港公司非執行董事(至2013年)、利亞零售有限公司非執行董事(2014年至今)、美國環境協會董事會成員(2008年至今),她也是團結香港基金的學術網絡成員(2015年至今)。

2002年之前,廖博士在香港、中國及台灣地區從事顧問業務。1999年至2002年及2007年至2008年期間,她受聘為北京奧運申辦委員會的高級環境顧問。

廖博士為英國皇家化學學院及香港工程師學會院士,並在香港大學土木工程系任榮譽教授。廖博士在1994年獲香港特區政府委任為太平紳士,亦在1997年獲授英帝國員佐勳章及在2007年獲頒授金紫荊星章。