Professor Hsin-Kang CHANG

    06city-2.jpg

    Professor H.K. Chang is the Honorary President of China Institute of Our Hong Kong Foundation.

    Professor Chang received his B.S. in Civil Engineering from National Taiwan University (1962), M.S. in Structural Engineering from Stanford University (1964) and Ph.D. in Biomedical Engineering from Northwestern University (1969). 

    Having taught at State University of New York at Buffalo (1969-76), McGill University (1976-84) and the University of Southern University (1984-90), he became Founding Dean of School of Engineering at Hong Kong University of Science and Technology (1990-94) and then Dean of School of Engineering at the University of Pittsburgh (1994-96). Professor Chang served as President and University Professor of City University of Hong Kong from 1996 to 2007. 

    In recent years, Professor Chang has taught general education courses at Tsinghua University, Peking University, China-Europe International Business School and Bogazici University in Istanbul. 

    Besides being President-Emeritus of City University of Hong Kong, he is an Honorary Professor at Peking University, Tsinghua University and several other major universities in China. 

    Professor Chang has published over 100 research articles and two research treatises in biomedical engineering and holds one Canadian patent. In addition, he has authored 11 books in Chinese and 1 book in English, mainly on education, cultures and civilizations. His academic interests now focus on cultural exchanges across the Eurasian landmass, particularly along the Silk Road.  

    Professor Chang is a Foreign Member of Royal Academy of Engineering of the United Kingdom and a Member of the International Eurasian Academy of Sciences.

    He was named by the Government of France to be Chévalier dans l’Ordre National de la Légion d’Honneur in 2000, decorated as Commandeur dans l’Ordre des Palmes Académiques in 2009, and was awarded a Gold Bauhinia Star by the Hong Kong SAR Government in 2002.

    Professor Chang served as Chairman of the Cultural and Heritage Commission of Hong Kong (2000-2003), a member of Hong Kong’s Council of Advisors on Innovation and Technology (2000-2004) and of Judicial Officers Recommendation Commission (1999-2005).  

    He is currently an independent non-executive director of Hong Kong Telecom Trust, Hang Lung Properties, Brightoil Petroleum and Nanyang Commercial Bank.

移至主內容

張信剛教授

06city-2.jpg

張信剛教授為臺灣大土木工程學士(1962),美國斯坦福大學結構工程碩士(1964),美國西北大學生物醫學博士(1969)。

他先後任教於美國布法羅紐約州立大學(1969-76),加拿大麥吉爾大學(1976-84)及洛杉磯南加州大學(1984-90)。1990年出任香港科技大學工學院創院院長,1994年任美國匹茲堡大學工學院院長,1996年任香港城市大學校長及大學講座教授,2007年退休。

近年來他在清華大學、北京大學、山東大學、上海交通大學、中歐國際商學院及土耳其海峽大學講授人文通識課程; 是北京大學、清華大學、西安交通大學、東北大學及北京外國語大學的名譽教授。

張信剛曾發表英文學術論文百餘篇,研究專著兩集,獲得一項加拿大專利;並曾出版有關教育、文化與文明的中、英文著作十一部。

他近年來的學術興趣主要在歐亞大陸上各文明的發展與交往,特別是“絲綢之路”上的文化交流。 

張教授為英國皇家工程院外籍院;國際歐亞科學院院士。於2000年獲法國政府頒授“法國國家榮譽軍團騎士勳章”;2002年獲中國香港特別行政區政府頒授的“金紫荊星章”;2009年獲頒“法國國家學術棕櫚司令勳章”。

張教授曾擔任香港文化委員會主席(2000-03)、香港創新科技顧問委員會委員(2000-04),香港司法官員推薦委員會委員(1999-2005)等公職。