Mr. Joseph YAM, GBM, GBS, JP

    Yam Joseph - Photo - Jul 2016.jpg

    Mr. Joseph Yam was the first Chief Executive of the Hong Kong Monetary Authority, an organization that he was instrumental in establishing in 1993, and headed it for sixteen and a half years.  After retiring from that post in September 2009, Mr Yam has taken up a number of appointments.  He is now Executive Vice President of the China Society for Finance and Banking, a society managed by the People’s Bank of China and Distinguished Research Fellow of the Institute of Global Economics and Finance at The Chinese University of Hong Kong.  He sits on the boards of UBS Group AG, Union Pay International and Johnson Electric Holdings Limited as independent non-executive director, and on the advisory committees of a number of prominent financial and academic institutions.

    Mr. Yam had a distinguished public service career of over 38 years in Hong Kong, much of it in a responsible position dealing with monetary and financial affairs.  He helped put together Hong Kong’s Linked Exchange Rate system in 1983 and nursed it successfully for a full 26 years since, proactively defending and strengthening the system through the sensitive period before the reversion of sovereignty in 1997, and subsequently through the Asian financial crisis of 1997-98 and the global financial crisis of 2008.  He master-minded the stock market intervention in August 1998 that prevented a meltdown of the monetary and financial systems of Hong Kong.  He introduced many strategic reform measures that helped to ensure financial stability in Hong Kong and develop Hong Kong as an international financial centre.  Working closely with the People’s Bank of China, Mr. Yam also promoted the establishment of the offshore renminbi market in Hong Kong, a strategic move for the internationalization of the renminbi.

    In recognition of his contributions to Hong Kong, Mr. Yam was awarded the highest honour of the Grand Bauhinia Medal by the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Government in 2009.  Over the years, Mr. Yam has also been conferred many honorary awards by the private sector, including the international media, and a few honorary doctorate degrees and professorships from local and overseas universities.

移至主內容

任志剛先生

Yam Joseph - Photo - Jul 2016.jpg

任志剛先生是香港金融管理局首任總裁。他於1993年協助成立該局,並執掌達16年半。於2009年9月退休後,任先生先後獲得多項任命。他現時是中國人民銀行屬下中國金融學會執行副會長和香港中文大學劉佐德全球經濟及金融研究所傑出研究員。此外,他亦是瑞士聯合銀行、銀聯國際有限公司及德昌電機控股有限公司獨立非執行董事。任先生也是多間主要金融及學術機構的諮詢委員會成員。

 

任先生服務香港的公職生涯超過38年,一直在貨幣和金融事務的領域上擔當重要角色,功績表現卓越。他於1983年協助制定聯繫匯率制度,成功培植該制度長達26年。他主動推出多項具策略及前瞻性的改革措施,捍衛及強化聯繫匯率制度,令該制度在1997年主權回歸的敏感時期保持穩定,更安然渡過了1997-98年的亞洲金融風暴,以及2008-09年的環球金融海嘯。在1998年8月,他更出謀獻策,協助港府打擊炒家操控市場,在香港股票市場採取入市行動,成功挽救香港的貨幣和金融體系免於陷入崩潰。此外,任先生更積極引入多項策略性改革措施,以確保香港金融的穩定和香港作為國際金融中心的發展。他一直跟中國人民銀行保持緊密合作,致力推動在港建立人民幣離岸市場,是人民幣邁向國際化的一項重要戰略性措施。

 

任先生於2009年獲特區政府頒授大紫荊勳章最高榮譽,以表揚他對香港的貢獻。過去多年,任先生亦先後獲得多間私營機構,包括國際媒體,頒授榮譽獎項。此外,他亦獲得香港及海外多所大學頒授榮譽博士及教授學位。